Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Legal Research: Subject Collections

This Guide covers essential print and electronic resources for researching international and foreign law.

Foreign Law Subject Collections

As with treaty research, foreign laws can increasingly be found via subject collections on the internet. Often, IGOS which monitor specific subjects worldwide, create these online subject collections.These same websites often provide access to relevant treaties by subject as well, as discussed under the Treaty Subject Collections tab. Please also check the JMLS Library catalog for print titles that may contain foreign laws on particular topics in english translation. 

A. Labor Law

NATLEX

NATLEX is a database of national labor, social security and related human rights legislation maintained by the International Labor Standards Department.

 

B.  Criminal Law

Buffalo Criminal Law Center
Collection of criminal law resources on the internet

 

C.  Food

FAOLEX
Comprehensive and up-to-date computerized legislative database; one of the world's largest electronic collections of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture and renewable natural resources.
 

 

D.  Insolvency

Global Insolvency Law Database
The GILD is the World Bank's legal portal for insolvency and creditor rights (ICR) matters.

  

E. Intellectual Property

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) provides access to national IP laws via its WIPO Intellectual Property Laws and Treaties Database, WIPO Lex.