Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Legal Research: Treaty Subject Collections

This Guide covers essential print and electronic resources for researching international and foreign law.

General Treaty Collections

Following is a brief listing of general and specific treaty subject collections. Many more such collections can be found in Hoffman & Berring, International Legal Research in a Nutshell (West, 2008) Appendix B, Web Treaty Collections K85 .H65 2008

Avalon Project

Treaty Collections by Subject

Admiralty

Treaties and related documents in the field of admiralty law can be found in a separate volume of the multi-volume treatise Benedict on Admiralty, KF 1104 .B434, which is also available electronically via Lexis.

Investment

Investment Promotion and Protection Treaties HG4538 .I78 1983

United States Investment Treaties: Policy and Practice KF1575 .V36 1991

Investment treaties can also be found via KluwerArbitration under Conventions.

Intellectual Property

International Treaties on Intellectual Property K1401.A35 I57 1997 

International Encyclopaedia of Intellectual Property Treaties K1401.A35 I428 2004

Copyright Laws and Treaties of the World K1418 .Un3

World Patent Law and Practice: Patent Statutes, Regulations, and Treaties K1504.15 1974

WIPO Intellectual Property Laws and Treaties Database (WIPO Lex)

Environment

ECOLEX This indispensable "gateway to environmental law" includes environmental law treaties and IGO materials related to them ("treaty decisions").

Extradition

Extradition Laws & Treaties: United States K5445 .E97 compiled by I. Kavass and A. Sprudzs, is a loose-leaf set containing all operative extradition treaties between the United States and foreign countries.

Outer Space

United Nations Treaties and Principles on Outer Space: Text and Status of Treaties and Principles Governing the Activities of States in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space KZD1120 .U557 1997

Taxation

Tax Treaties KF 6306 .F43, a 3-volume Warren, Gorham, & Lamont publication

Annotated Topical Guide to U.S. Income Tax Treaties KF 6306 .M33 1988  by J. Ross Macdonald and last updated in 1993

Lexis: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Taxation > Find International Materials & Treaties > Tax Analysts Worldwide Tax Treaties Combined Files

Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Taxation > Find International Materials & Treaties > International Tax Planning > Tax Havens of the World

U.S. Tax Treaties Reporter now available via VitalLaw (a subscription website accessible via the Library's home page under Popular Databases