LibGuides: Advocacy & Alternative Dispute Resolution: Mediation

Mediation Resources

Mediation: Law, Policy & Practice. This resource offers a comprehensive exploration of mediation as both a process and a legal framework. The book delves into the evolution of mediation laws and the policies that underpin them, providing insights into how these aspects are continuously developing. It covers the intricacies of the mediation process, detailing the roles of mediators, participants, and the legal requirements tied to mediation practices. Through practical examples and case studies, the authors highlight effective mediation strategies and the impact of legislation on the mediation landscape.

Mediating Legal Disputes: Effective Techniques to Resolve Cases by Dwight Golann
Call Number: 10th Floor - KF9085 .G63 2021
"Mediating Legal Disputes: Effective Techniques to Resolve Cases" offers comprehensive strategies and insights for legal professionals to navigate mediation processes and effectively resolve various types of disputes through skillful negotiation and conflict resolution techniques.
Mediation Practice Guide: A Handbook for Resolving Business Disputes by Bennett G. Picker
Call Number: 10th Floor - KF9084.Z9 P53 2003
ISBN: 1590311698
The "Mediation Practice Guide: A Handbook for Resolving Business Disputes" serves as a comprehensive resource for navigating the mediation process, highlighting the nuances of dispute suitability, mediator selection, and effective negotiation techniques. It offers practical tips and strategies for clients and advocates to enhance their mediation advocacy, ensuring a more successful resolution of business conflicts.
Advanced Negotiation and Mediation Theory and Practice: A Realistic Integrated Approach by Thomas F. Guernsey & Paul J. Zwier
Call Number: 10th Floor - K2390 .G84 2005
ISBN: 1556819501
Explains adversarial and problem-solving strategies, how to help clients make better strategic use of negotiation, counseling techniques and organizational tools for successful negotiations.
Mediation Advocacy by John W. Cooley
Call Number: 10th Floor - KF9084 .C565 2002
ISBN: 1556817800
Leads you step-by-step through the stages of mediation. Each chapter includes a checklist highlighting key actions at critical stages of the mediation process.
Mediation in a Nutshell by Kimberlee K. Kovach
Call Number: 6th Floor (Academic Success) - KF9084 .Z9 K68 2010
ISBN: 0314908803
"Mediation in a Nutshell" provides a comprehensive overview of the mediation process, highlighting its distinct characteristics and ethical considerations. The book explores key aspects such as mediator neutrality, confidentiality, and the evolution of mediation as a profession, while also addressing various applications and hybrid dispute resolution methods.
The Middle Voice: Mediating Conflict Successfully by Joseph B. Stulberg and Lela P. Love
Call Number: 10th Floor - KF9084 .S773 2009
ISBN: 1594605866
"The Middle Voice: Mediating Conflict Successfully" explores effective strategies and techniques for mediators to facilitate conflict resolution. It emphasizes understanding the dynamics of conflict, the role of the mediator, and the importance of developing tailored approaches to foster productive dialogue and achieve closure.
The Client's Guide to Mediation and Arbitration: The Strategy for Winning by Peter R. Silverman
Call Number: 10th Floor - KF9084 .S55 2008
ISBN: 1604420987
Written as a guide for business executives, this discusses the various ADR provisions in contracts, tactics for mandatory negotiation, mandatory non-binding mediation and mandatory binding arbitration. Appendix includes sample arbitration and mediation clauses, the American Arbitration Association Clauses and J.A.M.S. Clauses.
Mediation: Skills and Techniques by Laurence Boulle, Michael T. Colatrella Jr. & Anthony P. Picchioni
Call Number: 10th Floor - KF9084 .B68 2008
ISBN: 1422406679
"Mediation: Skills and Techniques" offers a comprehensive guide for aspiring mediators, covering essential skills and methodologies for effective dispute resolution. The book delves into the mediation process, from the initial intake and preparation to facilitating negotiations and encouraging settlements. It also addresses common challenges, special issues, and career opportunities in mediation, providing readers with practical insights to establish a successful mediation practice.
Mediation: Law, Policy, Practice by Sarah R. Cole, Nancy H. Rogers & Craig A. McEwen
Call Number: 10th Floor - KF9084 .R64 2001+
"Mediation: Law, Policy, Practice" explores the complexities and dilemmas associated with the institutionalization of mediation in legal contexts. It covers a wide range of topics, including the development of mediation policies, the ethical considerations surrounding mediator practices, and the implications of mandatory mediation and confidentiality. Additionally, the text offers guidance on advising clients, establishing public mediation programs, and ensuring quality and fairness in mediation through proper regulation and mediator qualifications.
The Mediator's Handbook: Advanced Practice Guide for Civil Litigation by John W. Cooley
Call Number: 10th Floor - KF9084 .C567 2000
ISBN: 1556816812
"The Mediator's Handbook: Advanced Practice Guide for Civil Litigation" offers comprehensive strategies and techniques for effective mediation in civil disputes, aiming to enhance the skills of mediators in complex cases. The book emphasizes the importance of understanding both the legal framework and the psychological dynamics involved in negotiation to achieve successful outcomes.
Mediation Representation: Advocating as a Problem-solver by Harold I. Abramson
Call Number: 10th Floor - K2390 .A92 2010
ISBN: 1601561083
"Mediation Representation: Advocating as a Problem-solver" offers a comprehensive guide for legal professionals on effectively representing clients during mediation processes, emphasizing the importance of preparation and strategic negotiation. The book highlights the role of cultural understanding and adaptability in fostering collaborative solutions for disputes across diverse settings.

Video Resources

Mediation Madness by ABA Section of Dispute Resolution
Advanced mediation advocacy skills in ten vignettes
Landlord-Tenant Mediation by Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School
Video of an actual landlord-tenant small claims mediation - from start to finish, including side-bar conversations - for Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School 2009 Mediation Pedagogy Conference.
Saving the Last Dance Mediation Through Understanding by Center for Mediation in Law, the Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School
This video demonstrates the "Mediation through Understanding" mediation model as applied to a highly charged business conflict. Focusing on a dispute between a dance company and its recently discharged choreographer, which raises intellectual property and employment issues, the video alternates between excerpts from the mediation itself and an educational commentary
Cultural & Gender Issues in Negotiation & Mediation by Nina Meierding for Mediate.com
Examines how culture and gender affect the way information is processed, communication and negotiation are experienced, power is exercised and understood, risks are evaluated, and decisions and agreements are reached.
Mediating Divorce Agreement by James C. Melamed for Mediate.com
General topics covered: current themes in the field, keys to conflict resolution, dispute resolution process options, negotiation approaches and negotiation power, being a mediator, getting started, mediator strategy, managing emotional & relational issues, communication skills, mediating parenting issues, mediating child & spousal support, mediating property & debt, tax and drafting issues, mediation ethics, developing a successful mediation practice
The Mediators: Views from the Eye of the Storm, Vol. I and II by Mediate.com
A collection of observations and experiences of thirty-one of the best known and most experienced mediators in the world
Get Busy, Get Paid: How to Develop a Successful Mediation Practice by L. Randolph Lowry for Mediate.com
Professor Lowry guides you through a series of eight concepts and exercises to better understand the state of your mediation practice and how to develop a plan for profitably expanding your practice.