Advocacy & Alternative Dispute Resolution: Video Resources

DVD & accompanying discussion guide consists of 20 vignettes that demonstrate a wide range of issues of varying complexity that may arise in the context of a commercial arbitration.

Featuring scenes from a Mock international arbitration with commentaries on the issues

Demonstrating the entire process of a commercial arbitration hearing, from the panel chairperson's opening statement through parties' closing arguments.

Illustrates interviewing and active listening techniques appropriate for lawyer-client negotiations or for similar agent-principal negotiations. Mnookin provides negotiation advice and commentary interspersed with two simulated lawyer-client interviews.

Book includes 78 role-playing assignments in criminal and civil cases with accompanying CD and DVD that includes videos on how to take a deposition and used it in trial, new mediation videos, settlement documentary, tour of the crime scene, and computer animations.

Disc 1. Introduction to evidence
Disc 2. The basic concepts of evidence
Disc 3. Four techniques for dealing with a failure of recollection ; The best evidence rule ; Opinions and the language of perception ; An introduction to expert witnesses
Disc 4. Exam of expert witnesses ; Cross-exam and impeachment I
Disc 5. Cross-exam and impeachment II ; Rehabilitaion I
Disc 6. Rehabilitation II ; Character as a defense
Discs 7-10. Hearsay I-IV
Disc 11. Presumptions and burdens of proof
Discs 12-13. Hearsay and the right to confrontation I, II
Disc 14. The ten commandments of cross-examination
Disc 15. Hearsay update.

Advanced mediation advocacy skills in ten vignettes

Video of an actual landlord-tenant small claims mediation - from start to finish, including side-bar conversations - for Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School 2009 Mediation Pedagogy Conference.

This video demonstrates the "Mediation through Understanding" mediation model as applied to a highly charged business conflict. Focusing on a dispute between a dance company and its recently discharged choreographer, which raises intellectual property and employment issues, the video alternates between excerpts from the mediation itself and an educational commentary

Examines how culture and gender affect the way information is processed, communication and negotiation are experienced, power is exercised and understood, risks are evaluated, and decisions and agreements are reached.

General topics covered: current themes in the field, keys to conflict resolution, dispute resolution process options, negotiation approaches and negotiation power, being a mediator, getting started, mediator strategy, managing emotional & relational issues, communication skills, mediating parenting issues, mediating child & spousal support, mediating property & debt, tax and drafting issues, mediation ethics, developing a successful mediation practice

A collection of observations and experiences of thirty-one of the best known and most experienced mediators in the world

Professor Lowry guides you through a series of eight concepts and exercises to better understand the state of your mediation practice and how to develop a plan for profitably expanding your practice.

Examines how culture and gender affect the way information is processed, communication and negotiation are experienced, power is exercised and understood, risks are evaluated, and decisions and agreements are reached.

Topics Include:
* Negotiation Styles & Dynamics
* Decision-making in the Face of Uncertainty
* Managing Mixed Motives: Competition and Cooperation
* Avoiding Exploitation
* Predictable Characteristics of Competitive Bargaining
* Geometry of Distributive Bargaining
* Strategy Regarding Opening Offers
* Capturing the Creativity of Collaborative Bargaining
* Identifying Underlying Interests
* Integrative Bargaining Roadmap
* Three Dimensions of Negotiation Success

Illustrates interviewing and active listening techniques appropriate for lawyer-client negotiations or for similar agent-principal negotiations. Mnookin provides negotiation advice and commentary interspersed with two simulated lawyer-client interviews.

This program takes you inside the minds of advocates and judges as they prepare for and conduct the appeal in a dispute over liquidated damages. Before oral argument begins, the advocates explain their strategies and preparation techniques, the points they hope to emphasize, and the weaknesses they see in their cases. The judges then provide you with their preliminary analyses of the case and discuss the questions they hope to have answered during argument. After the argument, the members of the Court analyze the arguments and discuss tactics and strategies informally with the other participants.

Book includes 78 role-playing assignments in criminal and civil cases with accompanying CD and DVD that includes videos on how to take a deposition and used it in trial, new mediation videos, settlement documentary, tour of the crime scene, and computer animations.