LibGuides: Distance Education: Databases

Overview

This page contains links to the resources that you are most likely to use to do research other than Westlaw and Lexis Nexis.

The databases listed on this page are not the only databases you may access through UIC Law. Find a complete list of here.

Lexis Nexis and Westlaw

You can access Lexis Advance and Westlaw using the credentials provided to you and completing the sign up process. If you've lost those credentials, please contact Philip Johnson at philipj@uic.edu.

Databases

These resources are those that will likely be most helpful in finding articles from law reviews and other sources, including some journals from disciplines outside of law. Find a full list of article databases here.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline contains an extensive collection of full-text, digital-image libraries that include US and some foreign law journals, ABA materials, US state bar journals, and American Law Institute (ALI) items, including the various Restatements of the Law.
EBSCO
A resource that searches multiple databases for non-law articles. Select Business Source Complete for business articles, and select Academic Search Complete for an even broader selection of academic journals to search.
WorldCat
WorldCat is the largest library network in the world. Ask a reference librarian for assistance navigating it.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
This link opens in a new window PQ Legislative Insight contains more than 18,000 legislative histories of laws enacted 1929–2012. Each PQ legislative history is a professionally researched compilation of all congressional publications generated during the legislative process. Each history includes the full text of the public law, all versions of related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, House and Senate documents, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background information.
CALI Lessons
Law faculty and law librarians design CALI lessons for law students. Lessons are segmented by year of law school matriculation as well as by topic. For the student CALI code, stop by the Law Library's reference desk or send an email to law-library@uic.edu, or call 312.427.2737 x729