ERISA - Secondary Sources - Employee Benefits Research

Introduction

The following resources specifically analyze ERISA or particular aspects of ERISA. Sources located in other areas of this guide will also include extensive discussions of ERISA or aspects thereof. Because ERISA is the major statute in employee benefits law, most of the sources listed under General Resources will address it. Certain sources included under the 401(k), Pension and Retirement Plans and Health Care tabs will analyze pertinent portions of the statute. Sources on ERISA litigation can be found under the Litigation tab.

Treatises & Handbooks

Corporate Counsel’s Guide to ERISA (Westlaw)
This guide gives corporate counsel an overview of the retirement issues arising under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974. It also addresses the increasingly frequent problems involving employee welfare benefit plans, including litigation related to those issues.
ERISA: A Comprehensive Guide
Provides a thorough and authoritative analysis of the principal statutory provisions of ERISA and the corresponding provisions of the Internal Revenue Code dealing with employee benefits. Available in the UIC Law Library (KF3512.W35 2020 - 10th Floor).
ERISA Fiduciary Compliance: A Practical Guide to Participant-Directed Investments
This guide provides essential insights and practical strategies for fiduciaries managing participant-directed investment plans to ensure compliance with ERISA regulations and best practices. Available in the UIC Law Library (KF3512.B43 - 10th Floor).
ERISA Fiduciary Law
An excellent resource for any legal practitioner navigating ERISA’s many requirements and seeking clarity in the constantly developing body of plan fiduciary case law. Practitioners can address crucial ERISA-related issues with this sophisticated analysis of ERISA fiduciary topics covering ERISA, the IRC, various agencies' regulations, and the federal courts. Available in the UIC Law Library (KF3512.E180 2006 - 10th Floor).
ERISA Law Answer Book
A practical desk reference that provides clear, concise, authoritative answers to more than 1,300 key questions - covering everything from benefit plan design, administration, communication, amendment, coverage, funding, distribution, and defense to fiduciary liabilities and litigation issues. Available in the UIC Law Library (KF3512.B83 2008 - 10th Floor).
ERISA Practice & Procedure
A practical desk reference that provides clear, concise, authoritative answers to more than 1,300 key questions - covering everything from benefit plan design, administration, communication, amendment, coverage, funding, distribution, and defense to fiduciary liabilities and litigation issues.
ERISA Class Exemptions
This resource provides a comprehensive analysis of various exemptions within the Employee Retirement Income Security Act, detailing their implications for pension and benefit plans. Available in the UIC Law Library (KF3512.M94 2006 - 10th Floor).

Employee Benefits Research: ERISA - Secondary Sources

Introduction

Treatises & Handbooks