Federal Tax Research: Finding Tax Articles

Various journals and law reviews are devoted to tax law. A majority of academic law journals can be accessed electronically via HeinOnline. Westlaw and LexisNexis also offer access to a number of these journals.

Citations, abstracts, and often full text articles, can be found using the Index to Legal Periodicals -Full Text database. LexisNexis . RIA Checkpoint also offers a search feature to locate articles in selected WGL Tax journals.

Another resource for tax articles is the The Social Science Research Network (SSRN). This online repository contains works in progress, research papers, and journal pre-publication articles. It is a good source to find timely scholarly works. Most of the content is freely downloadable.

The print version of the Index to Legal Periodicals the Current Law Index are alternatives to online research. The indexes are compiled chronologically with volumes having subject and author indexes.

• Current Law Index. [Los Altos, Calif.]: Information Access Corp, 1980. K33.C87 6^th floor
• Index to Legal Periodicals & Books. Bronx, N.Y.: H.W. Wilson Co, 1994. K33.I56 6^th floor

Below are selected tax related periodicals available in the Louis L. Biro Law Library. Most of the periodicals are located on the 6^th floor unless otherwise noted.

• Estate Planning. Boston: Warren, Gorham & Lamont for Estate Planning Research Group, 1973-.  Accessible via Checkpoint,
• The Journal of Taxation. Boston: Warren, Gorham & Lamont for Tax Research Group, 1954-. Also available  electronically via RIA Checkpoint.     
• Practical Tax Strategies. Boston, MA: RIA Group, 1998- Also available electronically via RIA Checkpoint.
• The Tax Adviser. New York: American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Available  online via EBSCO.            
• TAXES: The Tax Magazine. Chicago: CCH (1923- ). Available via Heinonline with a 2 year delay.
• The Tax Lawyer. Washington, D.C.: Section of Taxation of the American Bar Association, 1967- . Also available electronically via EBSCO.
• Tax Notes. Washington, D.C.: Tax Analysts and Advocates, 1972. (current two years). Weekly newsletter containing comprehensive news and commentary on tax laws and issues. Also available via LexisNexis.
• The WGL Tax Journal Digest. Boston, MA: Warren Gorham Lamont, 1993.  KF6271 .J68  10^th floor. Formerly the Journal of Taxation Digest, this journal has digests of articles from the Journal of Taxation and other WGL publications.

Users will need to provide their assigned Westlaw or LexisNexis login and password information when selecting links to those databases.

For other databases, such as Bloomberg Law and RIA checkpoint, links should lead directly to the resources if accessed from on-campus. If used off-campus, users will need to enter their UIC NETID and password to access the databases after selecting the database link.