SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Set up a free account in order to access all content.
These databases and indexes provide author, subject, and title access to the vast array of published and online legal scholarship. Note that indexes like the Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP) generally provide access to records only rather than the full text of articles. However, many ILP records contain links to the full text.
Both Westlaw and Lexis also offer access to law journal databases, including some foreign law reviews. HeinOnline (HOL) is a digital archive that is probably best known for its Law Journal Library. However, HOL includes much more than law review articles. Of note for this topic is its Foreign & International Law Resources Database (FILRD), which includes yearbooks, periodicals, U.S. law digests (pertaining to international law), and international tribunal reports and decisions. This and other HOL databases include many historical materials. Similarly, HOL's journal coverage goes back to the first volume of the journal. In contrast, Westlaw and Lexis's journal coverage does not go back much further than the 1980s.
If researchers wish to go beyond law reviews and journals, they can explore the UIC Databases list, which includes many well-known non-law journal databases like JSTOR.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism for locating scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available in full text through a UIC database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to UIC full-text databases.