The University of Illinois System – with its universities in Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, and Springfield – rests on the land of multiple native nations. These lands were the traditional birthright of indigenous peoples who were forcibly removed and who have faced two centuries of struggle for survival and identity in the wake of dispossession. We hereby acknowledge the ground on which we stand so that all who come here know that we recognize our responsibilities to the peoples of that land and that we strive to address that history so that it guides our work in the present and the future.
For more information on the University of Illinois System's land acknowledgment statement, see https://www.uillinois.edu/about/land_acknowledgement.
The UIC law library and the UIC Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that cover topics related to Native American law. These databases are listed below and at right.
For lists of databases by topic, see the UIC Libraries page. Subscription databases are also listed alphabetically. Listed below are UIC subscription databases that are relevant to Native American law research.
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the law library's website.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available in full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to UIC full-text databases.
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching legal topics related to Native Americans. Westlaw and Lexis both have good coverage of U.S. newspapers. For a list of newspaper databases available through the UIC libraries.