A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of Latin American legal topics. These titles are listed at right. To access these publications, you must be on a UIC campus terminal, or have a valid UIC NetID and password for remote access. Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on Latin American topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases.
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Produced by the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in more than 800 legal journals published worldwide. The online version is available in HeinOnline.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full text databases.
The following academic journals cover topics related to Latin American law. The links go to the bibliographic records in the UIC library catalog, which indicate where the source can be found online as part of a UIC library subscription.
The Foreign, Comparative, and International Law Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries mantains a list of Latin American law journals and other serials held at selected U.S. libraries. Titles are organized by country, and there is also a general category for Latin America. The majority of items on the list are in Spanish.
Havana, Cuba
SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge.
Part of the National Autonomous University of Mexico's (UNAM) Instituto de Investigaciones Jurídicas, the virtual Biblioteca contains the full texts of monographs, journals, and other materials. The content emphasis is Mexico, but other Latin American countries are also covered.
There are several open-access scholarship initiatives that are based in Latin America:
