A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of Latin American legal topics. These titles are listed at right. To access these publications, you must be on a UIC campus terminal, or have a valid UIC NetID and password for remote access. Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on Latin American topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases.
See also the UIC Daley Library's electronic research guide on Latin American & Latino Studies for other resources related to this area.
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals. The Index is available in print on the UIC Law Library - 6th Floor Mezzanine.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a UIC database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to UIC full-text databases.
The following academic journals cover topics related to Latin American law. The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the journal title, along with the years covered.
The first PowerPoint accompanied a talk on Chilean legal research given at the American Association of Law Libraries Annual Meeting in Seattle on July 16, 2013. The speaker was Sergio Stone, Robert Crown Law Library, Stanford University. (Posted with permission.)
The second set of PowerPoint slides was prepared for the LUC Law School course, "Comparative Law Seminar: Legal Systems in the Americas."
The Foreign, Comparative, and International Law Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries mantains a list of Latin American law journals and other serials held at selected U.S. libraries. Titles are organized by country, and there is also a general category for Latin America. The majority of items on the list are in Spanish.