A number of periodical publications offer coverage of topics related to international commercial arbitration. These titles are listed at right. To access most of the electronic titles, you must be on a UIC campus terminal or have a valid UIC user ID and password for remote access. Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on international commercial arbitration. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, Lexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. Another less well known subscription database, Bloomberg Law also provides access to books and articles, some of which are only available on that platform.
Indexes allow you to search for articles from many different journals at one time. Note that indexes only contain records describing the articles and sometimes abstracts, not the full text of the articles themselves. However, records in the Index to Legal Periodicals often include links to the full text pdfs of articles. The Index to Legal Periodicals is available via our Library Home Page under Article databases.
Another Index that is useful for international commercial arbitration research is the Legal Journals Index (LJI) which is available via Westlaw. Note that the LJI is a U.K. law publication so the articles may come from U.K. journals. The full text of those articles may, therefore, be somewhat more challenging for U.S. legal researchers to find. However, it is worth searching for the journal title in the Library catalog and the A to Z Journal List, both of which are accessible via our Law Library home page. If you cannot find the journal using either of these tools, please check with a Reference Librarian. It may be possible to obtain a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.
The following periodicals cover topics related to international commercial arbitration. The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the publication title, along with the years covered. Earlier editions of some titles may be available in print format (see the box below).
The following periodicals cover topics related to international commercial arbitration. Titles are listed only if print holdings supplement the dates of the electronic titles listed above, or if they are not available in electronic format through the UIC libraries. Print periodicals are shelved on the 6th floor mezzanine in the law library.
SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Materials may be downloaded anonymously or with an individual login/password (free).
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a UIC database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to UIC full-text databases.