International Commercial & Investment Arbitration Research: Awards & Decisions

The PCA facilitates arbitration and dispute resolution between states. Some decisions are available on the PCA website; archival awards are being added in cooperation with the Hague Justice Portal.

These are the digital versions of the U.N. volumes that contain collections of selected international and national arbitral decisions. Volumes are published annually, with the first appearing in 1948. Decisions involve conflicts between nations and are published in English or French. Also available via HeinOnline's United Nations Law Collection and in print 10th flr.KZ203 .R4

The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) provides access to "publicly available information on decisions and awards." There are currently over 600 documents posted--the oldest decision going back to 1988. The "List of Concluded" cases may also provide citations to sources where decisions are published in print.

According to the UNCTAD description, the database is "a collection of publicly known treaty-based investor-State dispute settlement cases, shown by year, parties, applicable rules or venues, available decisions and status. The displayed data is based on extensive research and interviews, but represents only those claims which were disclosed by the parties or arbitral institutions."

This site, maintained by Professor Andrew Newcome of the University of Victoria, includes access to all publicly available investment treaty awards, along with general information and resources relating to investment treaties and investment treaty arbitration.

Part of the well-known American Law Reports set, ALR International "analyzes relevant U.S. and foreign cases from English- and non-English-speaking countries on specific legal issues of international import.". Available via Westlaw and in print 10th flr. KZ199 .A44

This page includes select decisions and excerpts of arbitral decisions from the Chamber of Arbitration of Milan. Abstracts in English, full texts in Italian.

The CLOUT database contains abstracts of arbitral decisions and court decisions related to UNCITRAL texts, including the Model Arbitration Law. National correspondents submit the abstracts, which are available back to 1993.

This annual publication, edited by the International Council for Commercial Arbitration (ICCA), is a "major source" of arbitration jurisprudence. There are online consolidated lists of awards and decisions organized by Convention section and by subject (1976-2021). UIC Law patrons have access to volumes 2010-2021 in HeinOnline.

This website, an initiative of Professor Albert Jan van den Berg, includes a consolidation of the indices from the Yearbook Commercial Arbitration, with links to the decisions in KluwerArbitration (for subscribers). The site also offers a list of decisions by country, with links to abstracts in KluwerArbitration.

A joint project of Shearman & Sterling, UNCITRAL, and Columbia Law School, the site provides a database of case law on the application and interpretation of the New York Convention from national courts throughout the globe organized by Article and country.

Maintained jointly by the Pace University Institute of International Commercial Law and the Pace Law Library, this extensive site includes cases and scholarly material on the CISG. The CISG (United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods) is a uniform sales law that has been adopted by 94 countries (September 24, 2020).

This resource from the Center for Transnational Law at the University of Cologne attempts to codify the Lex Mercatoria. It provides access to arbitral decisions and commentary (aka doctrine) in the form of books and articles interpreting specific principles. It also includes an extensive bibliography.

The UNCITRAL Digest on the CISG is another case finding tool that was originally published in print. This digital version includes links to cited awards and decisions if available. It is part of the Pace University Institute of International Commercial Law and the Pace Law Library's Electronic Library on the CISG. The most recent edition was published in 2016, but updates to the Digest are available on the Pace CISG site.

UNILEX is a database of international case law on the CISG and the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts. It is sponsored by the Centre for Comparative and Foreign Law Studies – a joint venture of the Italian National Research Council, the University of Rome I “La Sapienza”, and UNIDROIT. Choose the instrument, either the CISG or the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts. Then browse case law by article or issue.

There are a number of databases in Westlaw that contain texts and excerpts of international arbitration awards and cases. From the home page, select Content Type "Arbitration Materials," then "International Arbitration: Awards."