Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Non-Legal Research: News & Corporate and Personal Information : Lawyers

A guide to help with non-legal research that covers news as well as information on companies and individuals

ARDC Lawyer Search

The Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission (ARDC) provides a lawyer search for all attorneys licensed in Illinois. 

News stories

Searching for stories in local publications like the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin is a great way to discover what attorneys are working on.   The Law Bulletin reports on recent cases, law firm hiring and other news relevant to the local legal community. 

Online subscriptions available for free to JMLS students. See LawBulletin.com/students for details.

Cases and Briefs

Lexis and Westlaw allow you to search for cases and briefs by the name of the party's counsel. 

In Westlaw search the Attorney field. Ex: AT(attorneylastname)

In Lexis search the Counsel segment. Ex: COUNSEL(attorneylastname)

Lawyer Directories

Martindale.com: Online edition of the venerable Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory; search by individual attorney name, firm name, location, or area of practice.

Directory of Corporate CounselContains information on the corporate law departments and practitioners of the companies of the United States and Canada. Current year in 6th floor Reference Collection KF195.C6 D57
American Bar Association Leadership Directory. Directory of individuals in active leadership positions within the Association and related organizations. KF190 .A54 and available at americanbar.org
Law Firm Yellow Book. Contact and biographical data for over 21,000 managing attorneys and administrators at over 700 firms. Current year in 6th floor Reference Collection KF190 .L352 and available online.
Federal Yellow Book. Directory of federal employees, plus hierarchy and composition of over 85 federal government organizations. Current year in 6th floor Reference Collection  JK6 .F45

Sullivan’s Law Directory for the State of Illinois. The most comprehensive list of attorneys practicing in Illinois. Current year in 6th floor Reference Collection KF192.IL6 S56

Finding an attorney in Cook County: Dorothy Brown, Clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County, created this guide to assist qualified customers in finding free or low cost legal assistance in Cook County.

West Legal Directory via Findlaw:  Intended for use by clients; use to locate lawyers by name, address, location or practice area.  May contain lawyers not found in Martindale-Hubbell.

Illinois Lawyer Finder: Illinois State Bar Association’s lawyer directory; attorneys must qualify to be listed. Find a lawyer by practice area, county or zip code.

Avvo Find a Lawyer: Search for attorneys nationwide.  Includes reviews and disciplinary history.

Judicial Directories

Judges of the United States Courts:  A historical database of federal judges sponsored by Federal Judicial Center.

The American Bench:  A comprehensive online directory of judges and information regarding U.S. courts.  The database includes a searchable directory of over 19,000 judges, profiles of federal and state courts, judicial boundary maps and gender diversity surveys.

Judicial Yellow Book Contact and biographical information for judges and their staff at the US Courts of Appeal, District Courts and State Courts

Sullivan’s Judicial Profiles. Current year in 6th floor Reference Collection KFI1708.A19 I44
BNA’s Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks. Current year in 6th floor Reference Collection  KF8700.A19 .K56
Directory of State Court Clerks & County Courthouses. Current year in 6th floor Reference Collection  KF8700.A19 D574
The Directory of Minority Judges of the United States. American Bar Association; 2008. 6th floor Reference Collection KF8700.A19 D57 2008 
Directory of State Judges in Chicago: Biographical Information and the Judicial Evaluations Conducted Between 1986 and 2004 Chicago Council of Lawyers. 6th floor Reference Collection KF8700.A17 C44 2007