Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Non-Legal Research: News & Corporate and Personal Information : Individuals

A guide to help with non-legal research that covers news as well as information on companies and individuals

News

News and magazine stories about an individual are the best sources of information to learn about an individual.  See the News tab for additional tips on searching for news stories.

For tips on locating information about lawyers and judges see the Lawyers tab.

LinkedIn

LinkedIn is the self-described largest professional network on the internet and is a great resource for getting background information on an individual.  It can also be useful to see the contacts that you and another individual have in common.

People Finders

Infospace: Use Infospace to locate businesses, individuals, maps and directions and information on city activities

Spokeo: Locate individuals by name, email, phone or username

Reverse Directory Phone Book: Use to locate a person or business by phone number or street address.

Reverse Phone Directory.com: Lookup a phone number and find a name and street address from a reverse phone lookup to see who lives there.

Switchboard.com: Online white pages and yellow pages; use to locate a person or business within your area.

Biographical Databases

Biographies (via Lexis) combined biographical database that includes Gale Biographies, Who's Who, Washington Post and New York Times biographical profiles and others

Biography in Context (available online via Chicago Public Library)

Contains full-text biographical information on over half a million people from all periods of history and from every geographical region. The database includes (1) articles from numerous biographical encyclopedias and reference works, (2) images and (3) magazine and newspaper articles that provide supplemental information on recent events in a person's life. Search for information on a particular person by name or, using the Person Search, create lists of people based on nationality, ethnicity, occupation, gender or date of birth or death.

Expert Witnesses