This collection of resources includes forms relating to business organization and business operation. There are two types Business practice form books: encyclopedic sets that cover all or most transactional topics, and sets that pertain specifically to business contracts and commercial agreements. In addition, there are an array of titles dedicated to forms for specific aspects of business practice like employment law, estate planning, and real property. If you are looking for form books on a particular topic not covered in this guide, like bankruptcy, try searching the library catalog with keywords like 'bankruptcy' and 'forms'. If you are looking for Illinois business form books, see the Illinois section.
Forms of business agreements can be found in a number of general treatises and form books, as well as in resources specific to business law. The following general sources provide sample business agreements:
American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2d. Lawyers Cooperative Publishing Co. (1971-). Many chapters in this multi-volume set address specific topics within the broad field of business law, including, but not limited to, joint ventures and Internet transactions. Forms related to some commonly researched areas of business and corporate law can be found in the following chapters: Chapter 74 (Corporations), Chapter 150A (International Business Transactions), Chapter 167A (Limited Liability Companies), Chapter 167B (Limited Liability Partnerships), Chapter 194 (Partnership) and Chapter 226 (Sale of Business). The library no longer maintains this set in print; however, it is available via Westlaw.
Loislaw Business Practice Library: Forms and Checklists. From Aspen Publishers, this database includes more than 200 forms, checklists, and sample client letters regarding the choice of business entity and model business operation agreements. Titles include Limited Liability Company & Partnership Answer Book and S Corporation Taxation Guide. Available via Loislaw > Business Practice Library.
West's Legal Forms - Business Organizations and West's Legal Forms - Commercial Transactions. West (2003-). Includes the business organization and commercial transaction-related content of the 61 volume set, West's Legal Forms.
Fletcher Corporation Forms Annotated. 4th ed. Callaghan (1972-). KF1411.F638 – 10th fl. This 9-volume set offers a complete library of federal and state forms for every transaction related to corporate law. Categories covered include incorporation, LLCs, nonprofits shareholder meetings, corporation contracts and nonprofits. This resource is no longer updated in print by the library; last print update 2008.
Current Legal Forms with Tax Analysis. M. Bender (1948-). KF 170 .R113 - 10th fl. (a/k/a Rabkin & Johnson). The most comprehensive set of transactional forms available. Includes tax background, practice background and checklists. Does not cover criminal or litigation.
Forms for Small Business Entities. (1996- ). Warren, Gorham & Lamont, c1996 KF1355.A65 E56 - 10th fl. Contains forms relating to the principal types of small business entities: general partnerships, limited partnerships, closely held corporations, and limited liability companies. Includes both structural forms (organization, transfer of ownership, termination of a small business entity) and operating forms (day-to-day operations), as well as tax forms. The forms on the included CD-ROM can be easily printed out. This resource is no longer updated in print by the library; last print update 2008.
Midwest Transaction Guide
Advising the Small Business: Forms and Advice for the Legal Practitioner. 2nd Ed. American Bar Association, 2011. KF 1659.B38 2011 - 10th fl. This volume includes advice and forms pertaining to all aspects of advising a small business. Forms included on CD-Rom available at circulation desk.
Commercial Contracts: Strategies for Drafting and Negotiating. Aspen Law & Business (2002- ). KF 889.3 .C66 2002 - 10th fl. This publication is designed to provide practical and sophisticated negotiating and drafting advice on a wide range of topics, including the expectations of parties to commercial transactions generally, the considerations applicable to different types of transactions and U.S interpretations thereof. Includes sample joint venture agreements, shareholders’ agreements, licensing intellectual property, franchise agreements, employment agreements and many others.
Letters for Small Business Lawyers. American Bar Association, 2011. KF 1659.A65 B38 2011 10th fl. Includes forms on CD-ROM available at circulation desk.
Structuring and Drafting Commercial Loan Agreements. Rev. ed. A.S. Pratt & Sons (1999-). KF1035.S72 1999+ - 10th fl.
Uniform Commercial Code Legal Forms. West (2003-). KF 886 .N45 2003 - 10th fl. Also available via Westlaw.
Warren's Forms of Agreements. M. Bender (1954-). KF 886 .W254x - 10th fl. This nine-volume set covers all phases of organizing and operating a business and the contracts involved therein including computer agreements, real estate, commercial loans, and intellectual property. Also available via LexisNexis.
Williston on Contracts: Forms. 4th Ed. West (2001-). KF 801 .A65 W53 1979- 10th fl. Four volumes of forms selected from American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2nd, American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms, and Nichols Cyclopedia of Legal Forms. Includes examples of complaints and jury instructions for contracts-related cases as well model contracts. Also available via Westlaw.