Artificial Intelligence: Resources

ChatGPT Recommendations*

Stuart J, Russell et al., Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Approach (2022). A comprehensive and authoritative textbook that explores the foundations, techniques, and applications of AI, blending theoretical insights with practical algorithms. Widely used in academia and industry, it covers topics ranging from machine learning and logic to robotics and natural language processing, making it a cornerstone resource for understanding modern AI.

Ray Kurzweil, The singularity is Nearer: When We Merge with Computers (2024). The author envisions a future where exponential advances in AI, biotechnology, and nanotechnology lead to the merging of human and machine intelligence. Building on his earlier predictions, The book examines the profound societal, ethical, and existential implications of a world transformed by super-intelligent systems and human-machine integration

Brian Christian, The Alignment Problem: Machine Learning and Human Values (2021). This book explores the urgent challenge of ensuring that AI systems reflect and uphold human ethical standards. Through interviews with leading researchers and real-world case studies, the author examines how machine learning can unintentionally diverge from human intentions, and why solving this issue requires a blend of computer science, philosophy, and psychology

Parmy Olson, Supremacy: AI, ChatGPT, and the Race that Will Change the World (2024). Olson offers a gripping account of the high-stakes rivalry between AI pioneers Sam Altman of OpenAI and Demis Hassabis of DeepMind, as they shape the future of artificial intelligence. Through vivid storytelling and sharp analysis, Olson reveals how ambition, ethical compromise, and unchecked power are driving the development of transformative—and potentially dangerous—technologies.

Yuval N. Harari, Nexus: A Brief History of Information Networks from the Stone Age to AI (2024). Harari investigates how the evolution of information networks—from ancient myths and religious texts to modern bureaucracies and digital platforms—has shaped human societies and power structures. By tracing this trajectory, Harari reveals how our current AI-driven world is the latest chapter in humanity’s ongoing struggle to control and interpret information.

* The staff at Five Books asked ChatGPT for recommendations.

Books

Artificial Intelligence (Justin Healey ed., 2020). This book explores the multifaceted impact of AI on society, technology, and daily life, presenting a collection of essays and analyses that delve into the fundamentals of artificial intelligence, its historical development, and current applications across various fields, including healthcare, finance, and transportation.

Artificial Intelligence: Legal Issues, Policy, and Practical Strategies (Cynthia H. Cwik et al. eds., 2024). This book explores the multifaceted implications of artificial intelligence within the legal realm, examining various legal challenges posed by AI, including intellectual property rights, liability issues, and regulatory frameworks. 

The Cambridge Handbook of Private Law and Artificial Intelligence (Ernest Lim & Phillip Morgan eds., 2024). The handbook looks at the rapidly evolving field of AI as it converges with private law. The collection provides a comprehensive overview of and critical insights into how private law must adapt to the challenges and opportunities presented by artificial intelligence, making it a valuable resource for legal scholars, practitioners, and policymakers.

Albert Chun-Chen Liu et al., Understanding Artificial Intelligence: Fundamentals and Applications (2022). This comprehensive book provides an overview of AI and its various applications. The book begins with a clear definition of AI, exploring its historical background and fundamental concepts, including machine learning, neural networks, and natural language processing, as well as addressing AI's ethical considerations and societal implications.

Handbook on the Ethics of Artificial Intelligence (David J. Gunkel, ed., 2024). This comprehensive exploration of the ethical considerations surrounding artificial intelligence brings together contributions from various scholars and experts in the field, addressing such key issues as accountability, bias, privacy, and the societal implications of AI technologies.

Kathryn Hulick, Artificial Intelligence (2016). This book is a comprehensive exploration of the world of AI. The book delves into artificial intelligence's history, development, and impact on our lives and society. It explains complex concepts in an accessible way, discussing how AI systems work, their applications in various fields, and the ethical considerations surrounding their use.

Domenico Marino et al., Ethics and Artificial Intelligence: Towards a Moral Technology (2024). This book explores the connection between ethical theory and the fast-evolving field of AI. The authors emphasize the importance of incorporating moral considerations into AI development and deployment and discuss various ethical frameworks and their implications for societal norms, human values, and decision-making. The resource highlights the need for technology that benefits society as a whole.

Tshilidzi Marwala & Letlhokwa G. Mpedi, Artificial Intelligence and the Law (2024). The authors explore the intersection of AI and legal systems, diving into how AI technologies are transforming various aspects of the legal landscape, including legal research, contract analysis, dispute resolution, and the implications for legal practice. The book serves as a critical resource for understanding how AI can reshape the legal profession, urging stakeholders to proactively adapt to these changes while ensuring that justice remains at the forefront. Book Review

Chris Minnick et al., Artificial Intelligence All-In-One for Dummies (2025). This book is a comprehensive guide that demystifies AI concepts and tools—like ChatGPT and Copilot—while showing readers how to apply them effectively across personal, professional, and creative domains.

Ethan Mollick, Co-intelligence: Living and Working with AI (2024). The author asserts that collaboration is essential for thriving in the age of AI. Rather than fearing job loss, we should see AI as a tool that enhances human capabilities. The book highlights the need for "co-intelligence," where humans and AI work together effectively. Key skills include learning to communicate with AI, integrating its tools into workflows, and developing critical thinking. Ethical considerations are discussed, along with guidance on reskilling and promoting human values in the evolving landscape.

Routledge Library Editions: Artificial Intelligence (2021). This collection of works compiles key texts and research in artificial intelligence. The series presents a comprehensive overview of the historical development, theoretical foundations, and practical applications of AI. 

Nathalie A. Smuha, The Cambridge Handbook of the Law, Ethics and Policy of Artificial Intelligence (2025). This book offers an interdisciplinary exploration of how AI technologies intersect with legal frameworks, ethical principles, and policy debates—especially in Europe—through expert insights and real-world applications.

Karen E. Sutherland, Artificial Intelligence for Strategic Communication (2025). Sutherland Sutherland's Artificial Intelligence for Strategic Communication offers a research-driven roadmap that blends theory and practice to help communication professionals ethically and effectively integrate AI into strategy, content creation, and evaluation across global contexts.

Ajitanshu Vedrtnam et al., Prospects of Artificial Intelligence in the Environment (2025). The authors investigate how cutting-edge AI technologies—like machine learning and predictive modeling—can tackle environmental challenges such as climate change, pollution, and disaster management while advancing sustainability across global ecosystems