A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of Latin American and Caribbean legal topics. These titles are listed at right. To access these publications, you must be on a UIC campus terminal or have a valid UIC NetID and password for remote access. Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on Latin American and Caribbean topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases.
See also the UIC Daley Library's electronic research guide on "Latin American & Latino Studies" for other resources available to UIC patrons.
Havana, Cuba
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Cuban legal topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News for full-text access to newspapers as well as the UIC Daley Library's electronic research guide on "Newspapers," which lists newspaper databases available to UIC patrons.
Major national newspapers in Cuba are Granma, Juventud Rebelde, and Trabajadores. The first two have English-language websites. Onlinenewspapers.com maintains a comprehensive list of Cuban newspapers. There is a Spanish-language index of Granma that covers 1965-1992, available via the LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center) website.
A historical archive of English- and Spanish-language newspapers published in Latin America is also available through the World Newspaper Archive. Diario de la Marina (1899-1909) is the only Cuban newspaper included.
Havana, Cuba
The Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy (ASCE) is based in Bethesda, Maryland. According to its website, ASCE's mission "is to study the elements and processes of a transition to a market economy in Cuba and to promote consonant scholarship, research, and publications by its members." ASCE publishes annual proceedings and other materials that are available on its website.
The following academic journals cover topics related to Latin American law. The links go to the bibliographic records in the UIC library catalog, which indicate where the source can be found online as part of a UIC library subscription.
Havana, Cuba
LARRP, the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project, is a consortium of research libraries that "seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies."
See its Latin American Open Archives Portal for access to social sciences "grey literature."
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.
SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Users need to go through a free registration process in order to create an account.
Blogs have become a popular platform for sharing news and opinions about Cuba, particularly for Cuban independent journalists working on the island. Yoani Sánchez is probably the most well-known dissident Cuban blogger, but there are many others.
Note that Justia's Blawg Search page allows searching across a large collection of law-focused blogs.
Havana, Cuba
Boletín del Tribunal Supremo (2010-2021)
Justicia y Derecho (2009-2021)
Revista Cubana de Derecho (2021-2022)
Revista Electrónica de Estudios Jurídicos Cubalex (2020-2021)
Revista Jurídica (2010-2014)
The Cubadebate website is maintained by the Circle of Cuban Journalists Against Terrorism (Círcolo de Periodistas Cubanos Contra Terorismo). The goal of the site is to provide an exchange for information on what the organization deems to be subversive and defamatory campaigns against Cuba, but the site is a useful source of news and opinion pieces. Cubadebate translates some of its content into English.
The Foreign, Comparative, and International Law Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries (FCIL-SIS) maintains a list of Latin American law journals and other serials held at U.S. libraries. Titles are organized by country, and there is also a general category for Latin America. The majority of items on the list are in Spanish.
Havana, Cuba